Refugee Resettlement

RIAC began it’s resettlement program in 2001. More than 180 refugees from different countries including Bhutan, Iraq, Burma, Somalia, Ethiopia, Central African Republic and Vietnam were resettled by RIAC in the past year alone. RIAC’s resettlement is done through it’s affiliation with Ethiopian Community Development Council (ECDC). ECDC is one of nine national agencies authorized by the Department of State to resettle refugees in the United States.

RIAC’s responsibility for all newly arriving refugees includes:
• Meet at the airport
• Locate housing and provide basic furnishing
• Enroll children in schools
• Enroll adults in English classes and employment programs
• Refer for health screenings
• Provide orientation
• Assist with accessing benefits